Charter Members Of Delano Fire Company No. 1

The Charter to Delano Fire Company No. 1 was open for just over 7 months between August 10, 1943 to March 14, 1944 and drew a total of 118 members.   As in towns all over America, Delano residents were already carrying the heavy burdens brought with the Country’s total commitment to World War Two.  So it was with tremendous pride and great community spirit that they devoted, already precious,  time and resources to  the organization and construction of what would become such an integral and valuable part of Delano.

They have long passed, but will always be remembered for their contributions and hard work so many years ago.  Below is a list of their names,  in order as they appear on the original charter lists.   Be sure to use the search box to find your family name in the list!

You can download and / or print out scans of the original list by clicking here.   There is also a plaque with the names of the charter members at the fire station.  You can check it out the next time you’re there or you can see a photo of it below.


Charter Members
Harry EdingerJoseph CauleyElmer Matz
William RhoadesThomas ReeseBernard Herman
Jerry RyanJohn RyanJohn Dougherty, Sr.
Clarence JonesWilbur AndrewsElmer Deitrich
John DeFrehnThomas DeFrehnKenneth Adams
Joseph Bowman, Jr.Joseph Bowman, Sr.Clayre Matz
Harry SparrCharles DiefenderferStanley Shaup
James K. ShaupDaniel ThomasRussell Gasser
Edward PurcellJohn HermanMichael Hentosh
Griffith LindnerMelvin LindnerLeo Walters
Edward CauleyCharles CollinsHarry Dudra
John CauleyFrank EdingerCornelius Edinger
Michael DeJohnWilliam EckerWilliam Hinkle
Oscar BretzRalph ApplegateClayton Edinger
John WoodOliver WalbertSamuel Rhoades
Arthur BlewFrank CarlClarence Bachert
John Bowman, Sr.Larry BellJohn Digris
Harry OsenbachAlbert GouldnerClinton Gouldner
Irvin HenningerJohn HouserLester Derr
Leonard DerrJohn Derr, Sr.James Gothie
John FaustOliver KistlerLester Kistler
Nelson WarntzWilbur GouldnerJohn Heckman
Raymond AshfieldJohn CollinsSamuel Deeble
Ephriam DavisCharles EngleJames Engle
Henry FaustRaymond Hartzel, Sr.Raymond Hartzel, Jr.
Louis GouldnerWilliam JonesJohn Kershetsky
Bertram LevyJames McCarthyRobert Matz
John McAndrewWilliam MaureyJohn Mogish
Charles MogishMichael MogishHarry Perry
Ronald PerryWarren PattersonJames Patterson
John OwensCharles SharkeySilas Stauffer
Vincent CauleyJoseph SchulleryThomas Cauley
Frank StahlJohn SawczakRuben Steiner, Sr.
James WetzelHarris WertmanJames Boyle
Michael DatchkoJohn Derr, Jr.Michael Lucas
Wilbur NeifertLewis ShaupGeorge Lazurick
Michael NooneHarry EisenbachNicholas Rodick
Mathew RiddlePaul MorbaCharles Blew
Robert GasserSteve KotchHarold Folweiler
Robert Patterson

Charter Member Plaque at the fire house - Delano Fire Company No. 1

Charter Member Plaque at the fire house – Delano Fire Company No. 1


Share Button